Iowa City Stories

February 18, 2010

Kate Callahan – More than a student

Being a college student is stressful as it is. With papers and exams continuously coming our way, what more could we fit into with just 24 hours in a day? Sophomore Kate Callahan takes full advantage of what she can manage. Not only is she trying to keep up with her social life by taking 14 semester hours, she also maintains a part-time job, participates in many extra curricular activities on campus, and also has the time management skills to train for marathons.

When asked how she manages her time with training, Callahan responded, “School always comes first but I like to do my workouts in the mornings so I’m energetic throughout the day cause I usually crash at night anyways. I like to get it done and over with.”

Callahan recently ran the Chicago Marathon in October 2009 and placed a remarkable time of 4:02:41, with a broken foot, just about 20 minutes shy for qualifying for the Boston Marathon.
“Well right now, I’m training for the Madison Marathon, which is on May 30, 2010. It’s not as big as big as the Chicago Marathon but you can still qualify for Boston.”

Callahan, just like any college student, has made many sacrifices but more than a typical college student has to make.“There are times when I do my long runs, I don’t have the time or energy to go out so I kind of feel like my social life is on the rocks when I train for marathons, but these are definitely positive sacrifices.”

University of Iowa Dance Marathon the Marathon

Kate Callahan, 19

Another incentive Callahan gained for running the Chicago Marathon was being able to participate in Dance Marathon at the University of Iowa. She was able to run for “Dance Marathon the Marathon” where University of Iowa students participate in the Chicago Marathon to raise even more money for this successful organization on campus.

Gretchen Glynn, 21, also ran the Chicago Marathon under Dance Marathon the Marathon and was designated a morale captain for this past Dance Marathon. Glynn knows just as well how time-consuming this may be for a college student but “it was all worth it in the end.”

Glynn, like Callahan, plans on running marathons in the near future but doesn’t know if she’ll run another while attending school.

“It was so fun and rewarding but there was so much time I had to give with all the morale meetings, training, school, and work. Running buddies and the morale captains helped me stay motivated throughout all this, too. I’ve always wanted to run the New York City Marathon, so I’m sure I can find people to train with me around Iowa City when I have the time but for now, I think I’m done with marathons for the next couple years.”

Running around Iowa City

Callahan has always been physically active her whole life so she likes to keep her well-being her priority. She prefers running outside with those who are also into physical activity because “Iowa City is not only filled with hills and stairs on the Pentacrest, but the city is beautiful and [she] can also site see while training at the same time.”

Lydia Givens, 20, is currently enrolled in Jogging II here at the University of Iowa. She, as well, likes to maintain her physical activity whether it’s running in class or around Iowa City.

“I like working out but with work and school, I feel like I have no time to get the work out time I want. I figured since I had enough room to add a semester hour into my schedule, might as well get a physical activity course in there to make up for lost time.”

Winter training for Mad-Town

Since the Madison Marathon is only a couple months away, Callahan has been training during Iowa City’s brutal winters. When Callahan was asked what she does when snow takes over the streets, she replied, “I hate relying on the treadmill because I feel like it doesn’t have the same effect but if I have to, I usually go [to the gym] between classes, like during my breaks or before or after class. It’s just easier to go to the gym when I’m on campus rather than wasting time going back home and coming right back.”

More marathons, please.

Unlike Glynn, Callahan plans on running more marathons in the near future. Regardless of the positive and negative sacrifices she has to make, she knows it’s for her own benefit, which encourages her to keep on running.

“When I broke my foot in the Chicago Marathon, I couldn’t work out for weeks and I could feel my attitude was changing in a negative way. I didn’t know what to do with my time off because I always do workouts or something in my free time. Now that I’m in college, I feel like I need to do something to keep myself healthy – so this is the route I’ve been taking for years and I plan on keeping it this way.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

